"Let us protect with love all that God has given us"

  1. Children's Hub
  2. Classes
  3. EYFS
  4. EYFS Information

EYFS Information

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum sets standards for the learning, development, and care of children from birth to 5-years-old. It's the first stage of a child's education. It ends when a child enters Key Stage One (KS1).




The EYFS not only sets out expected developmental milestones in the seven Areas of Learning and Development as well as developmental links, but also supports those working with EYFS age children in providing the correct support, provisions, and learning environment to best enable children to thrive and develop as well as be happy and healthy.


The four main EYFS principles that schools and practitioners work to adhere to are:


    • A Unique Child: Every child is unique and each one responds to different learning methods in different ways. Importantly, every child is capable of being a strong, resilient and capable learner with the right guidance. 
    • Enabling Environments: The environment in which a child learns should prompt and encourage good learning techniques. An enabling environment is one that caters to each individual child's needs and gives them the freedom to expand their knowledge and development.
    • Positive Relationships: Children should be encouraged to be strong and independent when required, forming the basis for positive relationships that they will go on to have. They should also be given the safety and security to bolster the relationships they have with those closest to them.
    • Learning and Development: By following the EYFS Seven Areas of Learning, both Prime and Specific, each child will be taught a wide range of skills to aid their physical and mental development.